Even the most competitive golfer needs some “social” golf time.

The Golf Section has a membership in excess of 50 members, all with differing golfing abilities, from the low handicapper to those just beginning.

Golf outings are organised on a monthly basis where all members compete for the Colleen Cherry Memorial Trophy (Best Stableford for the day).  Prizes on the day are awarded to the “good” golfers on the day, with those whose day on the golf course wasn’t so good, going into a “lucky card” draw giving everyone a chance to take home a prize.  

Members also compete over the year for the “Best of Year” awards which are presented in June.

The June and December events are “teams” events and followed by a dinner.  At the beginning of each year a subsidised “weekend away trip” is organised followed in February when a “RSA Welfare” Fundraising Tournament is held.

Throughout the year, Thursday evening raffles are run which allows for the subsidising of all events including the “away” trip.

In 2011 and 2015, the Rangiora RSA has hosted the New Zealaad RSA Golf Tournament – a 4 day event hosting players from throughout the country.  In the interim years, members have represented the Club at the National event played in Waihi, Rotorua and Tauranga.

The Golf section is also represented at the Men’s and Women’s SI Chartered Clubs Tournament, and event it hosted two years ago.  The challenge has also been taken up to host the NZ Chartered Clubs Golf Tournament in early February 2017.

Open to all members of the Rangiora RSA Club

Subscription – $5 per year

Financial Year – 1 June to 31 May

Programme 2015-2016

6 DecemberPegasus Golf Course & Xmas Dinner
23-24 January“Weekend Away” Trip – Hamner Springs
28 FebruaryWelfare Tournament at Rangiora Golf Course
13 MarchHawarden Golf Course
10 AprilWaimakariri Gorge Golf Course
MayAmberley Golf Course
12 JuneRangiora Golf Course
12 JuneAnnual General Meeting & Dinner

Representative Eliagibility
1)    Must be a financial member of the RSA Club/Golf Section
2)    members must have attended and competed in at least 3 events within the financial year

Section contacts:

Kevin Sunckell
Sue McFarlane
Gary Clark


President: Kevin Sunckell
Secretary: Sue McFarlane
Treasurer: Gary Clark
Committee: Eddie Carr, Bernie Rose, Ruth Sibley, Rose Steans, Tony Stephenson, Richard Smith

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and event notifications.

Great! Please check your inbox and confirm your email address by following the link.

Scroll to Top